Weekly Reflection: Week 5

For the previous week’s reflection, I interviewed myself. Haha! It may sound absurd so let me rephrase it. I straightened my thoughts by answering some fashion-related questions. Let’s have some role-playing here. You are the tv host and a renowned (don’t argue, okay?) international fashion designer is your guest! It’s none other than me of course. So, let’s begin!

You: Ms. Yuan, when you were still in your college days, do you already want to be a designer?

Me: Yes. Definitely. I can still remember how my Mama scolds me when I was still a kid because I was too busy drawing and coloring gowns with elves as my models. I wonder where are those artworks now. I wish my Papa haven’t put it in the stove together with some wood to be burned.

You: And why do you want to design clothing slash fashion?

Me: I feel such a hypocrite whenever I answer ‘to express myself’. Because truthfully, I want to design clothing because I want to leave a mark in this world. I want to make a difference. I want people to remember me everytime they see my designs. I want them to realize that there was once a certain “me” who contributed this and that to the clothing industry.

You: Having that in mind, in which kind of designer will you classify yourself, Ms. Yuan?

Me: Uhm, I’m one of those so-called aspirants. Like Phoebe Philo and Ralph Lauren, I also value lifestyle and the interest of people whenever I make a design.

You: Speaking of interest of people, what specific society are you aiming to deal with? And what do you think will be the impact of your designs to them?

Me: Hmm. The society that I want to influence is mainly women. I don’t usually design men’s clothes because, you know, I don’t feel a strong connection unlike when I’m designing dresses. The impact of my designs, I should say, is associated to someone’s mood. I like using pastel colors because it feels light to the eye. It’s like whenever you see my dresses, your mood will be uplifted as if the word ‘stress’ is not in your vocabulary. I want to convey a message that says “Everything’s gonna be fine. So put on your best smile and let the world see your shine.” My designs are also a little conservative because I want to introduce a new meaning of confidence. You don’t need to expose your cleavage or your thighs to be attractive. What’s important is that you are comfortable with what you’re wearing. That’s when the beauty within you will radiate automatically.

You: But you have dresses that expose the back of the body or sometimes, the waist, am I right?

Me: Yup. I don’t limit my designs because we all know that women have different tastes. As long as I follow my principle which is ‘no cleavage/boobs and thighs exposure’, I’m free to explore my creativity.

You: Thank you for those excellent answers, Ms. Yuan. We are very sure that many aspiring designers will be inspired by the ideas you shared with us.

And there goes a round of applause.

Gosh, I’m so weird. But swear, each and every answer above came sincerely from my mind, heart, and soul.

Leave a Reply

